AAWE President Jon GalsworthyFellow Wind Engineers,

In this, my first message as President of AAWE, I want to begin with my expression of gratitude to the membership. I consider it an honor to serve you and the Association and look forward to working with the Board to increase the visibility and impact of Wind Engineering in the Americas.

I would like to thank our Board members that have recently completed their terms: Mr. Bill Coulbourne, Dr. David Prevatt and Dr. John Shroeder. A special thanks as well to Dr. Steve Cai, who has passed the responsibility of Treasurer to Jennifer Hotchkiss following 10+ years of service. Thanks as well to Hector Cruzado who has agreed to continue in his role as coordinator of our Newsletter. Finally, a very special thanks to Dr. Chris Letchford, who in his two years as President has put in place new measures (including this website) which allow the AAWE to function more smoothly and communicate effectively with our membership. Chris has agreed to remain active with the AAWE, expressing an interest in the continuation of our bi-annual workshops that have been a great success.

I welcome to the Board three new members: Drs. Peter Datin, Nigel Kaye and Frank Lombardo, who along with our continuing members: Mr. Steve Camposano, Dr. Girma Bitsuamlak and Dr. Murray Morrison, I am sure will work together productively over the next two years. In the coming months we will engage with the membership to determine how the AAWE can improve its impact and grow our membership. In particular, I would like to discuss how we can be more relevant to wind engineers and those who work closely with wind engineers in private practice. Much more to come on this front.

Our next major event is the 13th Americas Conference on Wind Engineering at University of Florida in Gainsville, FL from May 21st to 24th. The conference is Chaired by Drs. Forrest Masters, David Prevatt and Kurt Gurley and they have assembled what looks to be a great program for us. I look forward to seeing everyone in Gainsville!


Jon Galsworthy  (   [email protected] )